/ Transportation

The New River Valley Passenger Rail Station Authority met in mid-December to select officers for the coming year. The officers for 2024 include Chair, Mayor Mike Barber, Christiansburg; Vice-Chair Angie Hill, Montgomery County; Secretary, Lynsay Belshe, Virginia Tech; Treasurer, Dirk Compton, Pulaski County.

On January 25th, the Authority will hold a joint meeting with NRV Passenger Rail to receive a report from the Virginia Passenger Rail Authority on 30% design drawings for the New River Valley extension project. The 30% design will include more information about timeline for service, cost, and final station location. For more information, contact Kevin Byrd, kbyrd@nrvrc.org.