/ Agency News
Award winners pose next to NRVRC sign


The New River Valley Regional Commission board of directors, comprised of elected officials and citizen appointees across the region recently honored their award recipients for 2020.
Mr. Chris Tuck, a former member of the Montgomery County Board of Supervisors, received the Champion of the Valley Award. This recognition is reserved for a current or former elected official serving the region. Mr. Tuck was selected for this award by the Regional Commission Board of Directors for his contributions as a member, and Chair, of the Montgomery County Board of Supervisors. Mr. Tuck served two terms on the Board of Supervisors representing District B in the central part of the county. Under his leadership the Board was able to navigate selling two county-owned former school sites helping the parcels return to the tax roll while supporting important needs for housing, job creation, parks and public services.
Mr. Bill Ellenbogen, a community advocate and businessperson, received the Citizen of the Valley award.  This award is given to a citizen in the New River Valley who has made significant contributions to the betterment of the region. Mr. Ellenbogen was selected for this award because of his tireless work in development of the Huckleberry Trail.  He has served as the founder and President of the Friends of the Huckleberry Trail organization since its inception.  On June 20th, 2019 the Town of Blacksburg officially opened the most recent extension of the Blacksburg portion of the Huckleberry Trail. This marked the realization of a big dream that became a 30-year effort to connect Christiansburg and Blacksburg to the Jefferson National Forest. Mr. Ellenbogen is a driving force for this significant regional asset so many residents and visitors of the New River Valley enjoy on a regular basis.
Front left to right, Mr. Bill Ellenbogen, Citizen of the Valley; Mr. Chris Tuck, Champion of the Valley.