6580 Valley Center Dr. • Ste 124 • Radford, VA 24141 • 540-639-9313


New River Valley Regional Commission

The Commission meets monthly on the fourth Thursday at 6:00pm at the New River Valley Business Center in Fairlawn. All meetings are open to the public. The Commission composition is unique in that all 12 member local governments appoint an elected official and the communities with more than 3,500 residents also appoint a citizen representative. Virginia Tech, Radford University, and New River Community College are members of the Commission and appoint a representative from their adminstrative leadership. The Commission sets policy for the organization, appoints the executive director to manage the affairs of the Commission and works to address issues of regional significance.

Each year Commission members elect officers to serve on the Executive Committee in the positions of chair, vice-chair, treasurer, and member at-large. The immediate past chair is also a member of the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee typically meets monthly to prepare for the regular Commission meeting.

Commission Members

Floyd County:
Ms. Linda DeVito Kuchenbuch*
Mr. Justin Coleman*
Mr. Michael Maslaney, Chair

Giles County:
Mr. Leon Law, Treasurer
Mr. Richard McCoy*

Montgomery County:
Mr. Michael Harvey
Mr. Steve Fijalkowski*, Member at Large

Pulaski County:
Dr. Doug Warren
Mr. Charles Bopp*

City of Radford:
Mr. Jeff Martin
Mr. David Horton*

Town of Blacksburg:
Ms. Susan Anderson*
Mr. Daniel Breslau

Town of Christiansburg:
Mr. Hil Johnson, Vice- Chair

Town of Floyd:
Mr. Mike Patton*

Town of Narrows:
Sarah Thwaites*

Town of Pearisburg:
Mr. Jason Ballard*

Town of Pembroke:
Mr. Robert Lawson*

Town of Pulaski:
Mr. Larry Clevinger
Mr. Tyler Clontz*

Town of Rich Creek:
Mr. William Kantsios*

Radford University:
Mr. Tim Franklin

Virginia Tech:
Ms. Liza Morris
Ms. Catherine Potter, Member at Large

New River Community College:
Ms. Angie Covey, Member at Large

*elected official


Meeting Minutes & Agendas


Download recent meeting agendas and minutes here.

Download previous years’ meeting agendas and minutes here.